Website push notifications are inevitably going to become one of the most popular ways to communicate with clients. There are quite a few things a web page owner has to do in order to get push notification delivery working. However, probably the most important steps are usually made by the website visitor.
Push notification engagement with users is purely dependent on one’s decision whether he accepts or declines the invitation to receive push notifications in the first place.
This is a crucial step which determines how many visitors will get to receive tailored messages from the website even when they are not browsing on it.
Once the visitor accepts the invitation to receive push notifications from a website, he is added to the list of subscribers (similarly like in email marketing). No additional contact information is requested.
Recovering blocked notifications
The truth is visitors choose to block push notifications or simply ignore the invitation to receive them for different reasons. While ignored invitations still can be accepted later, declines ones are often considered as a lost cause.
Recently, the idea of recovering “lost” subscribers has been blossoming in most marketers’ heads. Even though it is not as common for visitors to unblock push notifications, the option of doing it has always been there.
All visitor has to do is make small changes on browsers security settings. However, what might sound easy for push enthusiast, can appear rather off-putting to user who hasn’t done it before. The chances are, visitors will not invest time in figuring out how to unblock the notifications. And this is a problem that might cost more than one can imagine. However, recently marketers are becoming more aware of the hidden potential of block notifications.
More and more often you can notice small icons being displayed on the left or right bottom of the website. This icon remains visible for a visitor at all times. It is usually there to remind a visitor about previously blocked push notifications.
Once visitor moves the cursor on the icon, he receives instant explanation of what it means (You have blocked notifications). If visitor clicks on the icon, he is instructed on how notifications can be unblocked.
This solution for recovering subscribers can be incredibly helpful not only for visitor who blocked the notifications some time ago, and now want to unblock them but are not sure how to do it. It is especially helpful in those situations, when visitor have blocked notifications some time ago (maybe even by the accident) and does not recall doing so when revisiting the website later.
Different platforms offer different ways and strategies to recover “lost” subscribers. Nevertheless, all of these solutions are aiming to attain the same goal – increase conversion rates and eventually – revenue.
As push technology is improving daily, advanced features allow sending more personalized messages to clients. By the end of the day, it is not that visitors don’t want to receive notifications, they simply don’t want to receive useless ones. It is important to treat current push subscribers with respect, and do not walk away from so called lost causes that carry a great potential in them.